Search

Museum of the Moon
  • Wed 4 Apr 2018

    Sun 15 Apr 2018
  • Chinatown, Southport, Gold Coast
  • Festival 2018
  • Free
Free
Visual Arts Australian premiere

Museum of the Moon | Luke Jerram (UK)

After mesmerising millions of people across the globe, this glorious silvery moon journeys to Australia for the first time.

Museum of the Moon is an incredible seven-metre-wide, floating moon sculpture with detailed NASA imagery on its surface. Each centimetre of the replica equals 5 kms of the lunar surface.

While you bathe in the moonlight, listen to a surround-sound composition, featuring archive audio from the moon landings, by BAFTA award-winning composer Dan Jones.

As the sculpture travels around the globe, it highlights the latest moon science and gathers new musical compositions, personal responses, stories and mythologies from each stop.

About the creator: 
Internationally acclaimed United Kingdom (UK) artist Luke Jerram operates at the intersection of art and science. He is celebrated for his large scale public artworks, which have been enjoyed by millions of people worldwide.

"Will you put the moon back afterwards?" six-year-old audience member, UK.

"An uplifting visual experience; peaceful, calming, beautiful, exquisite." Audience member, UK.

When
Wed 4 Apr 2018 — Sun 15 Apr 2018
Times
Wed 4 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Thu 5 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Fri 6 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Sat 7 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Sun 8 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Mon 9 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Tue 10 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Wed 11 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Thu 12 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Fri 13 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Sat 14 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Sun 15 Apr, 10:00am - 10:00pm
Where
Chinatown, Southport, Gold Coast

-27.9689743, 153.4135722

Davenport and Young St
Southport QLD 4215
Australia

Credits

Museum of the Moon by artist Luke Jerram.

Co-commissioned by a number of creative organisations brought together by Luke Jerram and Norfolk and Norwich Festival. 

These include: At-Bristol, Lakes Alive, Provincial Domain Dommelhof, Brighton Festival,Greenwich+Docklands International Festival, Without Walls, Les Tombes de laNuit, Rennes and Cork Midsummer Festival. The artwork has also been created in partnership with the UK SpaceAgency, University of Bristol and The Association for Science and Discovery Centres.

Luke Jerram, Photographer
Carolyn Eaton, Photographer